Research Seminar Series

The Research Seminar Series brings experts to Whitney Laboratory for an in-depth presentation of current research topics of interest.

The series is scheduled on Friday at 11 a.m., unless otherwise noted, in the CMS Classroom. The seminar series is offered for postdoctoral associates, graduate students, visiting scientists and faculty.


Upcoming Events


Past Research Seminar Speakers

  • John Parkinson, Ph.D., University of South Florida
  • Paula Murphy, Ph.D., Trinity College Dublin
  • Whitney Leach, Ph.D., Stowers Institute
  • Zepeng Yao, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Orestis Nousias, Ph.D., Yale University
  • Lisa McElwee-White, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Arthur Porto, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Jon Chekan, Ph.D., UNC Greensboro
  • Karyn Esser, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Luíseach Nic Eoin, Ph.D., Nature Ecology & Evolution
  • Chris Lowe, Ph.D., Stanford University

Career Exploration Seminar Series

  • Jeffrey Squires, Ph.D., Daytona State College
  • Czerne Reid, Ph.D., FAAAS, University of Florida
  • Barbara Blonder, M.S., Flagler College
  • Scott Eastman, M.S., Florida DEP
  • Steve Johnson, Ph.D., Brigham Young University
  • Cassandra Quave Ph.D., Emory University
  • Julie Meyer, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Amy Lane, Ph.D., University of North Florida
  • Sathya Puthanveettil, Ph.D., UF Scripps Institute
  • Adriano Senatore, Ph.D., University of Toronto Mississauga
  • Erin Jimenez, Ph.D., National Human Genome Research Institute

Career Exploration Seminar Series

  • Amanda Boyd, Deputy Superintendent of the Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument
  • Prachee Avasthi, Ph.D., Co-founder and CSO of Arcadia Science
  • Bryndan Durham, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Veronica Hinman, Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University
  • Bruce McFadden, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Yonas Tekle, Ph.D., Spelman College
  • Otar Akanyeti, Ph.D., Aberystwyth University
  • Gary Bader, Ph.D., University of Toronto
  • Koty Sharp, Ph.D., Roger Williams University
  • Evanna Gleason, Ph.D., Louisiana State University
  • Megan Dennis, Ph.D., University of California Davis
  • Labib Rouhana, Ph.D., Wright State University
  • Marc Chevrette, Ph.D., Wisconsin Institute for Discovery
  • Brian Taylor, Ph.D., University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
  • Katie Kindt, Ph.D, National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) at NIH
  • Chiara Sinigaglia, Ph.D., Institute of Functional Genomics of Lyon
  • Kimberly Cooper, Ph.D. - University of California, San Diego
  • Jennifer Nicols, Ph.D. – University of Florida
  • Elijah Lowe, Ph.D. – Georgia Tech
  • Frank Chapman, Ph.D. - University of Florida
  • David Blackburn, Ph.D. – University of Florida
  • Max Maronna, Ph.D. – University of Sao Paulo
  • Christine Angelini, Ph.D. - University of Florida
  • Vanessa Gonzalez, Ph.D. – Smithsonian Institute
  • Joel Trexler, Ph.D. – Florida International University
  • Andrea Dutton, Ph.D. - University of Florida
  • Van Newkirk – The Atlantic
  • Ana Longo, Ph.D. – University of Florida
  • Antonis Rokas, Ph.D. – Vanderbilt University
  • Kim Hughes, Ph.D. – Florida State University
  • Andreas Heyland, Ph.D. – University of Guelph
  • Stefan Siebert, Ph.D. – University of California, Davis
  • Rolf Renne, Ph.D. - University of Florida
  • Bradford Gemmell, Ph.D. – University of South Florida
  • Heather Bracken-Grissom, Ph.D. – Florida International University
  • Scott Burgess, Ph.D. – Florida State University
  • W. Clay Smith, Ph.D. - University of Florida
  • Mauricio Rodrigues-Lanetty, Ph.D. – Florida International University Kevin Daly, Ph.D. – West Virginia University
  • James McClintock, Ph.D. - University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Tommy Angelini, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Leigh Boardman. Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Sean Carroll, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • Jamie Foster, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Michael Dickenson, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
  • Allison Edgar, Duke University
  • Rhoel David Ramos Dinglasan, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Jay McEntee, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Ruth Francis-Floyd, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Rachel Mallinger, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Phil Newmark, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Joe Tripani, Ph.D., Amherst College
  • Julia Notar, Duke University
  • Margaret Lasi, Ph.D, St. Johns River Water Management District
  • Frank Rosenzweig, Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Sam Scheiner, Ph.D., National Science Foundation
  • Lavinia Sheets, Ph.D., Washington University
  • Frank Smith, Ph.D., University of North Florida
  • Athula Wikramanayake, University of Miami
  • Gonzalo Quiroga Artigas, Ph.D., Université Pierre Marie Curie
  • Larry Dishaw, Ph.D., University of South Florida
  • Richard Hodel Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Vladimir Mashanov, Ph.D., University of North Florida
  • Heather Masonjones, Ph.D., University of Tampa
  • Hans Paerl, Ph.D., University of North Carolina
  • Tim Pusack, Ph.D., University of South Florida
  • Cliff Ross, Ph.D., University of North Florida
  • Pam Soltis, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Ulrich Stingl, Ph.D., University of Florida
  • Kenneth Storey, Ph.D., Carleton University
  • George Tiley, Ph.D. Candidate, University of Florida