Board of Scientific Advisors

Andy Baxevanis, Ph.D.

Director of Computational Biology, Acting Scientific Director, Senior Scientist
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) of the National Institutes of Health

Carole Bewley, Ph.D.

Senior Investigator, Laboratory of Bioorganic Chemistry
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) of the National Institutes of Health

Meg Daly, Ph.D.

Professor, Earth Sciences & Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education
The Ohio State University

Phil Newmark, Ph.D.

Burnell R. Roberts Chair in Regenerative Biology
Morgridge Institute for Research

Sheila Patek, Ph.D.

Hehmeyer Professor of Biology, Bass Fellow, Director of Muser
Duke University

Past Members of the Board of Scientific Advisors

Michael Dickinson, Ph.D.

Esther M. and Abe M. Zarem Professor of Bioengineering
The California Institute of Technology

Hans Paerl, Ph.D.

Kenan Professor of Marine and Environmental Sciences, Institute of Marine Sciences
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Baldomero Olivera, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor of Biology, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
University of Utah

Virginia Weis, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Department of Integrative Biology
Oregon State University

Alejandro Sanchez Alvarado, Ph.D.

Investigator, Stowers Institute for Medical Research, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Kansas City, Missouri

Andrew Biewener, Ph.D.

Charles P. Lyman Professor of Biology, Director Concord Field Station 
Harvard University, Massachusetts

Lee Niswander, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Developmental Biology and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator
University of Colorado, Denver

Gail Mandel, Ph.D.

Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Senior Scientist, Vollum Institute
Oregon Health Sciences University
Member, National Academy of Sciences

Nipam H. Patel, Ph.D.

William V. Power Endowed Chair in Biology Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
University of California, Berkeley

Gene Robinson, Ph.D.

Swanlund Professor and Chair, Department of Entomology
Director, University of Illinois Bee Research Facility

Member, National Academy of Sciences

William B. Kristan, Jr., Ph.D.

Professor and Chair, Section of Neurobiology
University of California, San Diego

John G. Hildebrand, Ph.D.

Regents Professor of Neuroscience
University of Arizona
Member, National Academy of Sciences

Martin Chalfie, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Sciences
Columbia University
Member, National Academy of Sciences
2008 Nobel Laureate

Eve E. Marder, Ph.D.

Professor of Neurosciences and Chair, Department of Biology
Brandeis Unversity
Member, National Academy of Sciences

William J. Lennarz, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor and Chairman of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Stony Brook University
Director, Institute for Cell and Developmental Biology
State University of New York, Stony Book
Member, National Academy of Sciences

Thomas J. Carew, Ph.D.

Bren Professor and Chair of Department of Neurobiology and Behavior
University of California, Irvine

George M. Langford, Ph.D.

Ernest Everett Just Professor of Natural Sciences and Professor of Biology
Dartmouth College
Adjunct Professor of Physiology
Dartmouth Medical School

Stephen F. Heinemann, Ph.D.

Salk Institute Council Professor in Genetics, Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory
The Salk Institute
Member, National Academy of Sciences and the National Institute of Medicine

George N. Somero, Ph.D.

David & Lucile Packard Professor in Marine Sciences
Stanford University and Acting Director, Hopkins Marine Station

Lynn M. Riddiford, Ph.D.

Professor of Zoology
University of Washington

Leonard K. Kaczmarek, Ph.D.

Professor and Chairman of Pharmacology and Professor of Cellular Physiology
Yale University School of Medicine

Peter R. MacLeish, Ph.D.

Professor of Anatomy and Director of the Neuroscience Institute
Morehouse School of Medicine

William R. Jeffery, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair of Biology
University of Maryland

Gene D. Block, Ph.D.

Alumni Council Thomas Jefferson
Professor of Biology; Director, NSF Center for Biological Timing
Vice President for Research and Public Service

University of Virginia

Scott E. Fraser, Ph.D.

Anna L. Rosen Professor of Biology and Director, Biological Imaging Center
Beckman Institute, California Institute of Technology

Alan Gelperin, Ph.D.

Member of Technical Staff, Biological Computation Research Department
Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies

Mary Beth Burnside, Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor for Research and Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology
University of California, Berkeley

Timothy H. Goldsmith, Ph.D.

Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Biology
Yale University

John G. Hildebrand, Ph.D.

Regents’ Professor and Director, Division of Neurobiology
University of Arizona

David R. McClay, Jr., Ph.D.

Professor of Biology, Immunology, and Neurobiology
Duke University

Irwin B. Levitan, Ph.D.

David J. Mahoney Professor and Chair, Department of Neuroscience
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

Joram P. Piatigorsky, Ph.D.

Chief, Laboratory of Molecular and Developmental Biology
National Eye Institute, NIH

John E. Dowling, Ph.D.

Maria Moors Cabot Professor of Natural Sciences and Harvard College Professor,
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Harvard University

John H. Law, Ph.D.

Regents Professor of Biochemistry and Entomology
University of Arizona

A. O. Dennis Willows, Ph.D.

Director of Friday Harbor Laboratories, Professor of Zoology
University of Washington

Lloyd M. Beidler, Ph.D.

Professor of Biological Science
Florida State University

Elizabeth D. Hay, M.D.

Louise Foote Pfeiffer Professor of Embryology
Harvard Medical School

Edward A. Kravitz, Ph.D.

George Packer Berry Professor of Neurobiology
Harvard Medical School

James D. Ebert, Ph.D.

Honorary Trustee, Marine Biological Laboratory and Professor of Biology
Johns Hopkins University

Frederic M. Richards, Ph.D.

Sterling Professor Emeritus of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
Yale University

Maclyn McCarty, M.D.

Professor Emeritus
Rockefeller University

Harold P. Hanson, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President Emeritus for Academic Affairs and Adjunct Professor of Physics
University of Florida